Skip to Main Content

Research 101: How to Find Forms and Precedents

Selected Sources - Subject Specific Sources

Bankruptcy

  • Bennett, Frank, Bennett on Bankruptcy Precedents, 3rd ed. KF 1536 ZA2 B4662 2018 / 2nd floor & CD-ROM collection

Civil Procedure

  • Bullen & Leake & Jacob’s Canadian Precedents of Pleadings, 3rd ed. KF 8868.1 B85 2017 / 2nd floor & CD-ROM collection.
    • A Canadian version of a well-known British publication that sets out numerous sample pleadings arranged by area of law, including bankruptcy, class actions, competition, construction, contracts, defamation, intellectual property, personal injury, professional negilgence, securities and wrongful dismissal.
       
  • How Do You Plead? Breaking the Bonds of Boilerplate, (Law Society of Upper Canada, 1994). KF 8870 A2 L393 1994 / 2nd floor
     
  • O'Brien's Encyclopedia of Forms: Ontario - Court Forms, 11th ed., loose-leaf. KF 170 O27 1987 / 2nd floor
    • Accessible in the Great Library.
    • See: Division VIII, Ontario - Court Forms.
    • Includes forms, commentary and checklists.
       
  • Pleading Your Causes of Action to Win, (Ontario Bar Association, 2005). KF 8870 A2 O583 2005 / 2nd floor
     
  • Stockwood, David, Civil Litigation: A Practical Handbook, 5th ed. KF 8840 ZB3 S86 2004 / 2nd floor 
    • Appendix B of this text contains nearly a hundred pages of sample forms that document a wrongful dismissal action from start to finish.
       
  • Williston and Rolls Court Forms, 3rd ed., loose-leaf. KF 8836 W54 2017 / 2nd floor
    • Also online in Lexis Advance Quicklaw - accessible in the Great Library.
    • These volumes set out forms ranging from preliminary matters to pleadings to appeals and points in between. 

Construction 

  • Bristow, Glaholt, Reynolds, & Wise, Construction builders' and mechanics' liens in Canada, looseleaf. KF 900 M32 2020e / 2nd floor & ProView (in-library)
    • Appendix A Precedents; Appendix B Forms
       
  • Bullen & Leake & Jacob’s Canadian Precedents of Pleadings, 3rd ed. KF 8868.1 B85 2017 / 2nd floor & CD-ROM collection
    • Part VI Construction Law
       
  • Canadian Forms & Precedents: Debtor/Creditor, loose-leaf. KF 170 C36845 2007 / 2nd floor
    • Also online in Lexis Advance Quicklaw - accessible in the Great Library
    • Ch. 4 Construction Liens
       
  • Harris, Gregory Harrington & Paul Richard LeBreux, Annotated Business Agreements, loose-leaf. KF 889 H37 1993 / 2nd floor
    • Ch. 7. XI Construction Agreements
       
  • Heintzman, West and Goldsmith on Canadian Building Contracts, loose-leaf. KF 902 G66 2014 / 2nd floor & ProView (in-library)
    • Appendix D. Specimen Standard Forms of Construction Contracts
       
  • O'Brien's Encyclopedia of Forms: Ontario Court Forms, 11th ed., loose-leaf. KF 170 O27 1987 / 2nd floor
    • Accessible in the Great Library.
    • Ch. 5.I.J. Construction Claims
       
  • Thibault, Gilles, Carswell's Form and Precedent Collection: Commercial Precedents, loose-leaf. KF 886 T45 2010 / 2nd floor & CD-ROM collection
    • Chapter VI G - Procurement 
       
  • Williston and Rolls Court Forms, 3rd ed., loose-leaf. KF 8836 W54 2017 / 2nd floor
    • Also online in Lexis Advance Quicklaw - accessible in the Great Library.
    • These volumes set out forms ranging from preliminary matters to pleadings to appeals and points in between
       
  • Wise, Howard, The Manual of Construction Law, loose-leaf. KF 902 W57 1994e / 2nd floor 
    • Full text available from ProView - accessible in the Great Library.
    • Appendix C. Precedents 

Corporate and Commercial

  • Harris, Gregory Harrington & Paul Richard LeBreux, Annotated Business Agreements, loose-leaf. KF 889 H37 1993 / 2nd floor
     
  • McGuinness, Kevin, Sale and Supply of Goods, 2nd ed. KF 913.1 M34 2010 / 2nd floor & CD-ROM collection
    • Contains checklists and extensive forms and precedents for commercial transactions.
    • Also online in Lexis Advance Quicklaw - accessible in the Great Library.
       
  • Rossiter, Gary S., Business Legal Adviser: Precedents, Agreements and Materials, loose-leaf. KF 1355 R67 / 2nd floor 
    • Full text available from ProView - accessible in the Great Library.
    • Includes precedents relating to business formation, purchase and sale and corporate transactions.
       
  • Thibault, Gilles, Carswell’s Form and Precedent Collection: Corporate Precedents, loose-leaf. KF 1415 ZA2 T45 2007 / 2nd floor & CD-ROM collection
      
  • Thibault, Gilles, Carswell's Form and Precedent Collection: Commercial Precedents, loose-leaf. KF 886 T45 2010 / 2nd floor & CD-ROM collection
      
  • Ultimate Corporate Counsel Guide, loose-leaf. KF 1425 U48 2006 / 2nd floor

Creditor Debtor

  • Meehan, Eugene et al, Creditors' Remedies in Ontario, 3rd ed. KF 1536 ZB3 C73 R 2013 / 2nd floor & CD-ROM collection

Criminal

  • Gold, Alan D., The Practitioner’s Criminal Precedents, 6th ed. KF 9620 ZA2 G65 2020 / 2nd floor & CD-ROM collection
    • Also online in Lexis Advance Quicklaw - accessible in the Great Library.
       
  • Watt, David, Carswell’s Form and Precedent Collection: Criminal Law Precedents, 2nd ed., loose-leaf. KF 9620 ZA2 W37 2007 / 2nd floor 
    • Full text available from ProView - accessible in the Great Library.

 Defamation

  • Brown on Defamation, 2nd ed., loose-leaf. KF 1266 B76 1994 / 2nd floor
    • Vol. 11, App.1 contains sample letters and pleadings
    • Full text available from Proview - accessible in the Great Library.
         
  • Pepper, Randy A. et al, Canadian Defamation Law and Practice, loose-leaf. KF 1266 C36 2012 / 2nd floor 
    • Full text available from Proview - accessible in the Great Library.

Employment

  • Annotated Business Agreements (Carswell). KF 889 H37 1993 / 2nd floor 
    • Ch. 7.III Employment Documents
       
  • Annotated Employment Agreement Clauses 2022 (Law Society of Ontario, CPD). Accessible online through AccessCLE
     
  • Annotated Employment Law Agreement 2021: A Focus on Key Clauses (Law Society of Ontario, CPD). Accessible online through AccessCLE
     
  • Canadian Forms & Precedents: Employment, loose-leaf. KF 170 C36845 2007 / 2nd floor
    • Also online in Lexis Advance Quicklaw - accessible in the Great Library
       
  • Lexis Practical Guidance: Employment, database. Available online; accessible in the Great Library
     
  • O'Brien's Encyclopedia of Forms: Ontario - Labour Relations and Employment, 11th ed., loose-leaf. KF 170 O27 1987 / 2nd floor
    • Accessible in the Great Library.
    • Includes forms, commentary and checklists.

Estates

  • Armstrong, Anne E.P., Estate Administration: A Solicitor’s Reference Manual, loose-leaf. KF 765 A95 / 2nd floor
    • Full text available from ProView - accessible in the Great Library.
    • Contains a "precedents" chapter and a "letters" chapter.
       
  • Histrop, Lindsay Ann, Estate Planning Precedents: A Solicitor's Manual, loose-leaf. KF 755 H57 1995 / 2nd floor 
    • Full text available from ProView and WestlawNext Canada - accessible in the Great Library.
       
  • Sweatman, M. Jasmine, Powers of Attorney and Capacity: Practice and Procedure. KF 1347 S94 2014 / 2nd floor  

Family

  • MacDonald, James C., Handling a Family Law Matter in Ontario, loose-leaf. KF 505 ZB3 H36 2002 / 2nd floor
    • Full text available from ProView - accessible in the Great Library.
    • Forms, precedents and checklists are included for each stage of a family law matter.
       
  • Stark, Hugh G. & Kirstie J. MacLise, Domestic Contracts: A Comprehensive Guide to Marriage, Cohabitation and Separation Agreements in British Columbia and Ontario, 2nd ed., loose-leaf. KF 529 S82 2004 / 2nd floor
    • Full text available from WestlawNext Canada - accessible in the Great Library.

Real Estate

  • Annotated Business Agreements (Carswell). KF 889 H37 1993 / 2nd floor 
    • Chapter 8 Real Estate Agreements
       
  • Lipson, Barry D., The Art of the Real Estate Deal, 4th ed. KF 665 L57 2021 / 2nd floor & CD-ROM collection
    • Forms and checklists for a variety of real estate agreements are found in Part Four - Forms.
       
  • Lipson, Barry D. & Rodness, Leonard, The Art of Drafting the Commercial Contract. KF 889 L57 2017 / 2nd floor PRAC
    • Part 4 Real Estate Acquisitions 
       
  • Ontario Real Estate Law Guide (LexisNexis Canada). KF 570 O57 1975e / 2nd floor PRAC
    • full text available through Lexis Advance Quicklaw while in library
       
  • Ontario Residential Real Estate Practice Manual (Butterworths). KF 665 R52 1991 / 2nd floor PRAC
    • look to "Index: Tables of Forms and Precedents" near back of table of contents
       
  • Wolf, Judith M., A Practical Guide to Mortgage Remedies in Ontario, 2nd ed. KF 695 W65 2013 / 2nd floor 

Technology

  • Abe, Lisa K., Canadian Forms & Precedents: Commercial Transactions: Information Technology & Entertainment, loose-leaf. KF 170 C36845 2007 / 2nd floor
    • Also online in Lexis Advance Quicklaw - accessible in the Great Library.
       
  • Annotated Business Agreements (Carswell). KF 889 H37 1993 / 2nd floor
    • Ch. 10 Technology Agreements
       
  • Limpert, P. Bradley, Technology Contracting: Law, Precedents and Commentary, loose-leaf. KF 905 C6 L56 2005  / 2nd floor & CD-ROM collection
    • Full text available from ProView - accessible in the Great Library
       
  • Lomic, Paul, Social Media and Internet Law: Forms and Precedents, 2nd ed. KF 390.5 C6 L65 2018 / 2nd floor & CD-ROM collection
     
  • Thibault, Gilles, Carswell's Form and Precedent Collection: Commercial Precedents, loose-leaf. KF 886 T45 2010 / 2nd floor & CD-ROM collection
    • Ch VIII I Information Technologies 

Torts

  • Rainaldi, L.D., ed., Remedies in Tort, loose-leaf. KF 1250 R45 1987 / 2nd floor 
    • Full text available from ProView - accessible in the Great Library.
    • Each chapter covers a different type of tort action and includes a sample statement of claim.