Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research 101: How to Find Journal Articles

Journal Indexes

Journal indexes can be searched by keyword, author or title, and can often be limited by date. These search tools typically return a list of article titles together with citation information, but usually not the full text of the article. For tips on how to obtain the full-text article itself, see Locating Journals.

The following is a list of major legal journal indexes.  All are available at the Great Library.

  • Index to Canadian Legal Literature (on LexisNexis Quicklaw & Westlaw Canada)

The Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL) is the most comprehensive index of Canadian legal journal and newsletter articles and case commentaries. Available online on both Westlaw and Quicklaw, it covers content since 1985. The print edition of this index covers earlier content.

On Westlaw Canada, ICLL is available from the LawSource home page. Search results may include links to full-text articles if the journal cited is available on LawSource.

On LexisNexis Quicklaw, access ICLL by entering “ICLL” in the <Find a source> box on the home page. Search results may include links to full-text articles if the journal cited is available on Quicklaw. ‚Äč

  • Legal Resource Index (on Westlaw US)

Contains abstracts from journals throughout the world (1980- ). Index only. No access to full-text.

  • Legal Journals Index (on Westlaw UK)

Covers UK and EU legal journals (1986- ).