Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

On The Web: Where to Find Australia and NZ Law

Case Law - High Court

This database, available via the AustLII website, contains all officially reported decisions (in the Commonwealth Law Reports) since the Court's inception in 1903 and all pampleted decisions (reported or otherwise) since 1998. Judgments are generally available within a few hours of being handed down, and notice of new decisions is provided on the main AustLII home page. AustLII offers full database search options, a case name search, an alphabetical browse listing, and a recent cases list. Also available are special leave dispositions, transcripts, High Court bulletins, and all Privy Council appeal decisions from decisions of the High Court of Australia.

Case Law - Federal Court of Australia

Single judge and full court decisions from February 1, 1977 to December 31, 2001, but only single judge decisions from January 1, 2002 to date. A separate Federal Court of Australia Full Court judgments database contains full court decisions from January 1, 2002 to date. Users can also search across both databases at once. The Federal Court website also provides a number of judgments that cannot be uploaded to AustLII due to technical difficulties.

Case Law - Other Courts

Tribunals / Topical Collections