Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

On The Web: Where to Find Canadian Case Law

The Courts of British Columbia

The British Columbia Courts site contains a searchable database of all reasons for judgment released by the Court of Appeal and the Supreme Court since 1990.The collection includes decisions pertaining to Yukon.

The website is updated daily. Reserve judgments are posted by 12:00 noon of the day they are released in chambers. Oral judgments are posted after they have been signed by the judge.

Many of the reasons for judgment are available in text format only. Decisions the courts since January 1, 1990 as well as some prior decisions are also available on CanLII where they can be browsed chronologically or searched using basic or advanced queries. Practice rules are also provided on CanLII.

British Columbia Provincial Court

The British Columbia Provincial Court Judiciary's website provides a searchable database of judgments since the third week of December 1999. Also available is information concerning the Provincial Courts, including Rules of Court.

Decisions of the Provincial Court since January 1, 2000 as well as some prior decisions are also available on CanLII, where they can be browsed chronologically or searched using basic or advanced queries. Practice rules are also provided on CanLII.

British Columbia Law Reports

The British Columbia Reports law report series was first published in 1884 by the Law Society of British Columbia, with judgments dating back to 1867. The series ceased publication in 1948. Also published during this period was the Digest of British Columbia Case Law, a three-volume series of summaries of cases from the Reports, as well as from publications of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in the United Kingdom. This online collection, made available by the Notary Foundation of the Society of Notaries Public of B.C., the B.C. Courthouse Society, U.B.C. Law Library and U.B.C. Archives, includes the full text of all decisions published in the law report series as well as the digests. Users can search the entire collection, or browse issues of the British Columbia Reports. All files are in PDF format.

Administrative Tribunals